/
AI Flashcards
Save to my account
Sign up
AI Flashcards
Pro Tools Essentials
Study
1
Question
What is the File menu at the top of the screen used for in Pro Tools?
Page 3
Answer
Open, save, and close sessions.
2
Question
What is the View menu at the top of the screen used for in Pro Tools?
Page 3
Answer
Show and hide elements of a window.
3
Question
What is the Setup menu at the top of the screen used for in Pro Tools?
Page 3
Answer
Configuring the behavior of the Pro Tools system.
4
Question
What is the Options menu at the top of the screen used for in Pro Tools?
Page 3
Answer
Turning features on and off.
5
Question
What is the Window menu at the top of the screen used for in Pro Tools?
Page 3
Answer
Show, hide and arrange Pro Tools windows.
6
Question
What is an audio track in Pro Tools and how is it identified?
Page 3
Answer
Audio is recorded to this kind of track. Track is identified with a waveform icon.
7
Question
What is an auxiliary input (AUX) track used for and how is it identified?
Page 3
Answer
Used to route signal sent from multiple tracks to one bus. Can also be used in conjunction with MIDI tracks to create a virtual instrument signal chain. Track is identified with a downward facing arrow icon.
8
Question
What is a MIDI track in Pro Tools and how is it identified?
Page 3
Answer
Records and stores MIDI data and is not audible on its own. Often used in conjunction with an AUX track. Track is identified with a 5-pin MIDI connector icon.
9
Question
What is an Instrument track in Pro Tools and how is it identified?
Page 3
Answer
MIDI data can be recorded, stored, and audible with this track. Combination of a MIDI track and an AUX track. Track is identified with a keyboard icon.
10
Question
What is a Master Fader track in Pro Tools and how is it identified?
Page 3
Answer
Controls the level of an output. Track is identified by a Sigma icon.
11
Question
What is a VCA track in Pro Tools and how does it function?
Page 3
Answer
A voltage controlled amplifier track does not produce signal on its own. It controls the levels of other tracks proportionally to their relative positions (it moves them all at once with a single fader movement). VCA tracks are identified by icon of 3 faders at different levels.
12
Question
What are the two types of folder tracks in Pro Tools?
Page 3
Answer
Basic Folder and Routing Folder.
13
Question
From which Pro Tools menu can a track be created?
Page 3
Answer
Track Menu.
14
Question
What is the default shortcut to open the New Tracks dialog box in Pro Tools on Mac and Windows?
Page 3
Answer
Shift-Command-N (Mac) or Shift-Ctrl-N (Windows).
15
Question
From which Edit/Mix window view can a track's input be set in Pro Tools?
Page 3
Answer
I/O.
16
Question
Can a track be shown on the Edit window timeline but not appear in the Tracks List pane on the left hand side in Pro Tools?
Page 3
Answer
No. All Tracks, whether hidden or unhidden, will show up on the Tracks List.
17
Question
Can deleting a track in Pro Tools be undone?
Page 3
Answer
No. Deleting a track cannot be undone (False).
18
Question
What happens if you hold Option (Mac) or Alt (Windows) while dragging an audio file from a browser into the Pro Tools timeline?
Page 3
Answer
It copies the audio file into the session’s Audio Files folder, creating a duplicate audio file which uses more hard disk space.
19
Question
From which menu can a new Workspace browser be opened in Pro Tools?
Page 3
Answer
Window Menu.
20
Question
What functions are available in the Workspace browser in Pro Tools according to the notes?
Page 3
Answer
1. Preview files before importing (Play button) 2. Adjust volume of the preview (Number indicator and small level icon) 3. Conform audio files to session tempo (Metronome icon) 4. Simple Search (Magnifying glass) 5. Advanced search (Magnifying glass with plus symbol).
21
Question
Which menu contains the toggle to show or hide rulers in Pro Tools?
Page 3
Answer
View Window.
22
Question
What keyboard shortcut pastes content from the clipboard on Mac and Windows in Pro Tools?
Page 6
Answer
Command-V (Mac) or Ctrl-V (Windows); pastes content from clipboard.
23
Question
Which function must you use to create multiple copies of clips rather than using Duplicate in Pro Tools?
Page 6
Answer
You must use the REPEAT function in order to create multiple copies of clips.
24
Question
What are the three types of trim tools available in Pro Tools?
Page 6
Answer
Standard, TCE (Time Compression/Expansion), Loop.
25
Question
When your keyboard lacks a numeric keypad, which keys can be used to nudge clips while in keyboard focus mode?
Page 6
Answer
When in keyboard focus mode, the comma and period keys can be used to nudge clips.
26
Question
What is the default metering position relative to the fader for audio track meters, and how can you change that setting?
Page 6
Answer
The default option is Pre-fader metering; Pre-fader metering can be disabled by navigating to Options → Pre-Fader Metering.
27
Question
What are the standard parameters on a compressor as listed in these notes?
Page 7
Answer
Threshold, Ratio, and Gain.
28
Question
What is the difference between the AudioSuite render options: Overwrite File, Create Individual Files, and Create Continuous File?
Page 7
Answer
Overwrite File = Destructive processing which replaces the original file(s) and renders it with processing; Create Individual Files = Non-Destructive and each selected file will be made into new files then be added to the playlist/clip list; Create Continuous File = Non-Destructive and all files will be combined into one new audio file regardless of how many clips were selected.